top of page
Search

When the reliving is more painful than the living

Thinking today about “grace and grounding” (which Brené Brown said in her podcast with Sonya Renee Taylor) as a way forward today. A way to see / notice / note the past, like: that I stayed up too late last night, that I didn’t have a good run, that I ate a little more sugar and a little less protein (an old habit, a way of eating I trained into myself), and that I was unable to get off my phone when my eyes were tired and my mind wanted to stop.


I replay this last one over and over again in my head.


But with grace (this is the key, and also very difficult), I can notice this: the reliving in my head right now is so much more painful than the living itself, which happened but then ended when I went to bed. And then I can re-ground myself in the present: right here, in a cafe on the west end of Pearl Street. What is this matcha tasting like, look at the woman carrying her tea so slowly.


I can stop moving my beautiful mindspace back there / last night / back on my bed / in my phone-tired eyes. I can hold it / tug it back here / to this cafe, this morning, how my hands move as I type.


Look up and be / see / notice here now.


Prompts / Thoughts:


Tell me about your mindspace.


How do you bring yourself back?


What are your thoughts on grace?


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page